“Wreck of the Fitzgerald” program to be held March 7

January 24, 2017
Join bestselling author and speaker Rochelle Pennington to learn more about the “Edmund Fitzgerald,” the largest shipwreck ever to go down on the Great Lakes.
 
No other Great Lakes shipwreck is more well-known than the “Fitzgerald,” which disappeared into a stormy Lake Superior on November 10, 1975, when wind gusts peaked at nearly 100 miles per hour and waves reached the height of 3-story buildings.
 
Pennington will delve into the history and mystery of the vessel and will explore the opposing views of dive detectives who are still trying to determine what led to the demise of the 29-man crew. The massive ore freighter, built and owned by Milwaukee’s Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co., was named after its president, Edmund Fitzgerald, who helped establish the Wisconsin Marine Historical Society. Audience members will be led from the ship’s launch to its final radio broadcasts, and from the “Fitz’s” discovery on Superior’s bottom to the location of the vessel’s artifacts in various museums.
 
The talk is part of the Manitowoc County Historical Society’s Hungry for History series which features a speaker and meal to follow. The program will be held Tuesday, March 7 at 5:30 pm at the Lighthouse Inn, 1515 Memorial Dr, Two Rivers. The meal will follow the program. Advanced registration is required to attend. The cost is $20 for MCHS members and $25 for non-members.
 
The Manitowoc County Historical Society is a is a museum of living history.  The 60-acre interpretive museum of local history features a Welcome Center with local history exhibits and research services and the outdoor Pinecrest Historical Village - a collection of over 25 historic buildings with period furnishings from Manitowoc County's early settlers. 
 
For more information about the Hungry for History Series or the Manitowoc County Historical Society, call (920) 684-4445 or visit www.manitowoccountyhistory.org.
 
# # #
 
 
Contact:
Amy Meyer, Executive Director
director@manitowoccountyhistory.org, (920) 684-4445